hw/chaoskey
2 years agoShove components and traces to provide 0.4mm clearance around board master v1.0
Keith Packard [Mon, 27 Jun 2016 16:39:53 +0000 (09:39 -0700)]
Shove components and traces to provide 0.4mm clearance around board

Seeed wants to v-score the boards, which requires additional clearance
around the edge. This moves all traces and pads to provide at least
0.4mm clearance around the edge of the board.

Signed-off-by: Keith Packard <keithp@keithp.com>
3 years agoInclude docs for seeed build
Keith Packard [Thu, 19 May 2016 04:58:32 +0000 (21:58 -0700)]
Include docs for seeed build

Signed-off-by: Keith Packard <keithp@keithp.com>
3 years agoRespond to seeed DFM report
Keith Packard [Thu, 19 May 2016 04:50:34 +0000 (23:50 -0500)]
Respond to seeed DFM report

Add labels for ICs.
Remove outline from SOTs
Add pin 1 mark for symmetric ICs.

Signed-off-by: Keith Packard <keithp@keithp.com>
3 years agoReplace SoC footprint (again). Make all vias the same size. v0.5
Keith Packard [Mon, 4 Apr 2016 19:26:08 +0000 (12:26 -0700)]
Replace SoC footprint (again). Make all vias the same size.

I've updated the SoC footprint to remove some silk and clean up the
corner pads to make them pass DRC.

This patch also switches all of the remaining vias to the small size;
no reason to have two drills for those.

Signed-off-by: Keith Packard <keithp@keithp.com>
3 years agoSwitch LED current-limit resistor to 220Ω
Keith Packard [Wed, 9 Mar 2016 18:46:26 +0000 (10:46 -0800)]
Switch LED current-limit resistor to 220Ω

This makes it a bunch brighter, which is useful when stuck inside the box.

Signed-off-by: Keith Packard <keithp@keithp.com>
3 years agoSwap STM footprint for fewer edges. Fix mask on LDO pads
Keith Packard [Mon, 7 Mar 2016 20:35:29 +0000 (12:35 -0800)]
Swap STM footprint for fewer edges. Fix mask on LDO pads

Use STM footprint that has fewer corners to simplify mask.
Make sure LDO mask has 6mil clearance.

Signed-off-by: Keith Packard <keithp@keithp.com>
3 years agoSwitch 1uF cap to 35V part
Keith Packard [Sun, 21 Feb 2016 22:16:33 +0000 (14:16 -0800)]
Switch 1uF cap to 35V part

Necessary as it's in the HV part of the circuit a couple of times.

Signed-off-by: Keith Packard <keithp@keithp.com>
3 years agoAdd red LED v0.4
Keith Packard [Mon, 8 Feb 2016 07:38:14 +0000 (23:38 -0800)]
Add red LED

Signed-off-by: Keith Packard <keithp@keithp.com>
3 years agoUse smaller traces for signal runs
Keith Packard [Mon, 8 Feb 2016 07:08:39 +0000 (23:08 -0800)]
Use smaller traces for signal runs

6mil traces to save space

Signed-off-by: Keith Packard <keithp@keithp.com>
3 years agoG6 part has pin 18 as VDDIO2, not GPIO
Keith Packard [Mon, 8 Feb 2016 01:02:18 +0000 (17:02 -0800)]
G6 part has pin 18 as VDDIO2, not GPIO

The datasheet for the QFN28 package was updated to swap pin 18 from a
GPIO to VDDIO2. Connect this to +3.3V.

Signed-off-by: Keith Packard <keithp@keithp.com>
3 years agoResize J6 name on PCB
Keith Packard [Wed, 20 Jan 2016 02:23:41 +0000 (18:23 -0800)]
Resize J6 name on PCB

Signed-off-by: Keith Packard <keithp@keithp.com>
3 years agoAdd outline bits to USB connector slots
Keith Packard [Tue, 19 Jan 2016 04:53:36 +0000 (20:53 -0800)]
Add outline bits to USB connector slots

This is how we get slots made, two drills with a line on the outline
layer between them.

Signed-off-by: Keith Packard <keithp@keithp.com>
3 years agoAdd force-flash pin. Move components to preferred-parts.
Keith Packard [Tue, 19 Jan 2016 04:07:08 +0000 (20:07 -0800)]
Add force-flash pin. Move components to preferred-parts.

We need a way to put the device in flash-loader mode that isn't
accessible from software. This is done with another hole in the debug
connector; connect pin 5 to pin 0 and the device will boot to flash
loader mode.

Signed-off-by: Keith Packard <keithp@keithp.com>
3 years agoSwitch to 28-pin QFN process. Rework for tiny box.
Keith Packard [Tue, 19 Jan 2016 00:52:00 +0000 (16:52 -0800)]
Switch to 28-pin QFN process. Rework for tiny box.

Arrow carries the 28-pin QFN version of the processor, which makes the
circuit a bunch smaller and lets it fit inside the New Age 090604-FU
enclosure.

Signed-off-by: Keith Packard <keithp@keithp.com>
3 years agoRemove spurious comma from transistor mfg part number
Keith Packard [Mon, 18 Jan 2016 02:29:10 +0000 (18:29 -0800)]
Remove spurious comma from transistor mfg part number

DK lists this as part of the value, but nxp doesn't...

Signed-off-by: Keith Packard <keithp@keithp.com>
3 years agoFix attributes to build complete parts list
Keith Packard [Mon, 18 Jan 2016 02:14:35 +0000 (18:14 -0800)]
Fix attributes to build complete parts list

This makes sure all of the attributes are set so that a complete
partslist is constructed.

Signed-off-by: Keith Packard <keithp@keithp.com>
3 years agoFix fill on bottom to follow the outline
Keith Packard [Mon, 18 Jan 2016 01:40:38 +0000 (17:40 -0800)]
Fix fill on bottom to follow the outline

Clone the outline bits to make the bottom layer neatly clear the
outline of the board.

Signed-off-by: Keith Packard <keithp@keithp.com>
3 years agoReplace USB footprint with updated version including slots
Keith Packard [Mon, 18 Jan 2016 01:35:30 +0000 (17:35 -0800)]
Replace USB footprint with updated version including slots

Signed-off-by: Keith Packard <keithp@keithp.com>
3 years agoUse 27k resistors on the input to create a false ground
Keith Packard [Sun, 17 Jan 2016 00:22:13 +0000 (16:22 -0800)]
Use 27k resistors on the input to create a false ground

This replaces the odd network of 33k resistors; testing shows that
this works 'just fine thanks'.

Signed-off-by: Keith Packard <keithp@keithp.com>
3 years agoSwitch to shared build system. Move project name on schematic
Keith Packard [Tue, 29 Dec 2015 05:53:51 +0000 (21:53 -0800)]
Switch to shared build system. Move project name on schematic

Signed-off-by: Keith Packard <keithp@keithp.com>
3 years agoUse op-amp instead of transistor
Keith Packard [Tue, 29 Dec 2015 05:41:43 +0000 (21:41 -0800)]
Use op-amp instead of transistor

This provides linear response so we can use more of the bits from the
noise source.

Signed-off-by: Keith Packard <keithp@keithp.com>
4 years agoConnect high voltage shutdown pin to CPU
Keith Packard [Fri, 20 Mar 2015 16:58:14 +0000 (09:58 -0700)]
Connect high voltage shutdown pin to CPU

This lets the CPU control power to the supply and reduce current in
suspend mode.

Signed-off-by: Keith Packard <keithp@keithp.com>
4 years agoRename to 'ChaosKey'
Keith Packard [Thu, 5 Mar 2015 19:38:45 +0000 (11:38 -0800)]
Rename to 'ChaosKey'

Signed-off-by: Keith Packard <keithp@keithp.com>
4 years agoRemove spurious .pcb files
Keith Packard [Thu, 5 Mar 2015 19:37:13 +0000 (11:37 -0800)]
Remove spurious .pcb files

4 years agoSwitch to usbAmale connector
Keith Packard [Wed, 25 Feb 2015 06:31:30 +0000 (22:31 -0800)]
Switch to usbAmale connector

Replace the pcb-usb "connector" with a real connector. Looks like the
4ucon ones will be just fine

Signed-off-by: Keith Packard <keithp@keithp.com>
4 years agoSwitch to the usbAmale connector
Keith Packard [Wed, 25 Feb 2015 05:38:15 +0000 (21:38 -0800)]
Switch to the usbAmale connector

We can get these for $0.12 from 4ucon, that's likely to be way cheaper
than ordering a custom board thickness

Signed-off-by: Keith Packard <keithp@keithp.com>
4 years agoFix attributes with gattrib lqfp-32
Keith Packard [Thu, 12 Feb 2015 05:58:40 +0000 (21:58 -0800)]
Fix attributes with gattrib

Added DK numbers, load status, moved data around to make it sensible

Signed-off-by: Keith Packard <keithp@keithp.com>
4 years agoShove ink around to make it usable for loading boards
Keith Packard [Tue, 10 Feb 2015 18:08:59 +0000 (10:08 -0800)]
Shove ink around to make it usable for loading boards

Signed-off-by: Keith Packard <keithp@keithp.com>
4 years agoUse the available LQFP-32 package
Keith Packard [Tue, 10 Feb 2015 07:15:47 +0000 (23:15 -0800)]
Use the available LQFP-32 package

This makes the board larger, and doesn't let it fit in the cute little
box, but uses a component we can actually get.

Signed-off-by: Keith Packard <keithp@keithp.com>
4 years agoFix STM32F042 part number to reflect desired package high-voltage
Keith Packard [Mon, 9 Feb 2015 17:17:49 +0000 (09:17 -0800)]
Fix STM32F042 part number to reflect desired package

Not that we can purchase this, but it is what fits...

Signed-off-by: Keith Packard <keithp@keithp.com>
4 years agoFinish single source version
Keith Packard [Mon, 2 Feb 2015 16:59:24 +0000 (17:59 +0100)]
Finish single source version

Replace components with smaller parts.
Fit into small New Age enclosure.
Connect 20V supply to v_usb.

Signed-off-by: Keith Packard <keithp@keithp.com>
4 years agoStart work on single high-voltage source version
Keith Packard [Fri, 30 Jan 2015 05:30:57 +0000 (06:30 +0100)]
Start work on single high-voltage source version

This removes the low-voltage noise source and micro match debug
connector to see if we can't fit it in the tiny USB dongle package
used for µPUSB v3.0.

Not quite there; the noise source has too many huge packages still

Signed-off-by: Keith Packard <keithp@keithp.com>
4 years agoUse keithp-friendly muffin template dual-source
Keith Packard [Tue, 6 Jan 2015 04:37:34 +0000 (20:37 -0800)]
Use keithp-friendly muffin template

This sticks the refdes values in each label

Signed-off-by: Keith Packard <keithp@keithp.com>
4 years agoSwitch one MSOP8 pad from round to square
Keith Packard [Tue, 6 Jan 2015 04:37:12 +0000 (20:37 -0800)]
Switch one MSOP8 pad from round to square

Cutting stencils requires square pads

Signed-off-by: Keith Packard <keithp@keithp.com>
4 years agoFix D2 goof-up. Adjust value silk positions
Keith Packard [Fri, 26 Dec 2014 03:30:52 +0000 (19:30 -0800)]
Fix D2 goof-up. Adjust value silk positions

Oops. When sticking the silk text on the back, I must have rotated D2
accidentally, which puts the pads in the wrong location. I've moved
them back, but the first build is gonna be awkward.

Also moved all of the component value text around to make it usable.

Signed-off-by: Keith Packard <keithp@keithp.com>
4 years agoFix component values and DK parts numbers
Keith Packard [Fri, 26 Dec 2014 02:40:03 +0000 (18:40 -0800)]
Fix component values and DK parts numbers

Add DK part numbers for all of the passives. Fix some of the passive
component values so they're reasonable.

Signed-off-by: Keith Packard <keithp@keithp.com>
4 years agoAdd words to the back silk fab-dual-source-1.0
Keith Packard [Wed, 24 Dec 2014 11:08:54 +0000 (03:08 -0800)]
Add words to the back silk

4 years agoLayout version with dual noise sources and STM32F042 processor
Keith Packard [Wed, 24 Dec 2014 10:31:06 +0000 (02:31 -0800)]
Layout version with dual noise sources and STM32F042 processor

Signed-off-by: Keith Packard <keithp@keithp.com>
4 years agoAdd a 20V darlington source. Switch to STM32F042 (Schematic changes only)
Keith Packard [Wed, 24 Dec 2014 08:07:54 +0000 (00:07 -0800)]
Add a 20V darlington source. Switch to STM32F042 (Schematic changes only)

This provides *both* the low current zener noise source and a new 20V
darlington noise source to see which one works better.

The low current zener source has been updated to filter the input
power and provide for both low-pass filtering and configurable gain in
both op-amp stages to allow for more experimentation.

Signed-off-by: Keith Packard <keithp@keithp.com>
4 years agoShuffle board part labels around to make them usable
Keith Packard [Wed, 24 Dec 2014 04:43:17 +0000 (20:43 -0800)]
Shuffle board part labels around to make them usable

Signed-off-by: Keith Packard <keithp@keithp.com>
5 years agoadd version number to the silk
Bdale Garbee [Mon, 24 Feb 2014 06:26:47 +0000 (23:26 -0700)]
add version number to the silk

5 years agoop amps only need picoamps of bias, so use 1M resistors for the divider
Bdale Garbee [Mon, 24 Feb 2014 01:17:14 +0000 (18:17 -0700)]
op amps only need picoamps of bias, so use 1M resistors for the divider

5 years agoselect resistor values, update attributes
Bdale Garbee [Mon, 24 Feb 2014 01:10:36 +0000 (18:10 -0700)]
select resistor values, update attributes

5 years agofixes from Keith's initial design review
Bdale Garbee [Sun, 23 Feb 2014 23:43:26 +0000 (16:43 -0700)]
fixes from Keith's initial design review

5 years agoupdate to use a miso pin for the random bits
Bdale Garbee [Sun, 23 Feb 2014 23:13:47 +0000 (16:13 -0700)]
update to use a miso pin for the random bits

5 years agoinitial design capture
Bdale Garbee [Sun, 23 Feb 2014 18:20:16 +0000 (11:20 -0700)]
initial design capture